Can Jaguar I-Pace Complete The Treble?

Wed 6th Mar 2019

After winning the UK and European Car of the Year awards, Jaguar’s I-Pace is now in line to make it a clean sweep after being shortlisted for the World Car of the Year 2019.

Jaguar will learn its fate at the New York Auto Show in April, but faces strong competition from fellow European contenders, the Audi E-Tron and Volvo S60/V60, who have also made the top three for the main World Car of the Year.

The I-Pace could theoretically make it a double hat-trick as it has made the shortlist in three categories at the awards, with the World Green Car and World Car Design of the Year also up for grabs.

World Car of the Year
- Audi E-Tron
- Jaguar I-Pace
- Volvo S60/V60

World Urban Car
- Hyundai AH2 / Santro
- Kia Soul
- Suzuki Jimny

World Luxury Car
- Audi A7
- Audi Q8
- BMW 8 Series

World Performance Car
- Aston Martin Vantage
- McLaren 720S
- Mercedes-Benz AMG 4-Door Coupe

World Green Car
- Audi E-Tron
- Hyundai Nexo
- Jaguar I-Pace

World Car Design of the Year
- Jaguar I-Pace
- Suzuki Jimny
- Volvo XC40

Despite the winners being awarded in New York, there are no US cars shortlisted for the awards, with a straight shoot-out between Europe and Asia set to take place. The UK is also represented by the Aston Martin Vantage and McLaren 720S, both of which are competing in the same category for World Performance Car of the Year, only the Mercedes-Benz AMG 4-Door Coupe can deny a victory for Britain.

Audi is the best represented brand at the awards, as well as the E-Tron being up for the aforementioned World Car of the Year, it could also win World Green Car, while the A7 and Q8 will go up against perennial rivals BMW (8 Series) for World Luxury Car.

The winners of the main awards won’t get too long to enjoy their victory ‘The Road To World Car’ of the year will begin in earnest once again for 2020 in May when the longlist of contenders will be announced.